Deutsch Intern
Institute of Political Science and Sociology

Academic Calendar

Winter and Summer Semester

The academic year at the University of Würzburg is divided into two semesters (winter semester and summer semester):

  • Winter semester 2019/2020: 01.10.2019 - 31.03.2020
  • Summer semester 2020: 01.04.2020 -  30.09.2020

Lecture period

In winter semester, lectures run from mid-October to mid-February. In summer semester, lectures run from mid-April to mid-July:

  • Lecture period in winter semester 2019/2020: 14.10.2019 - 07.02.2020
  • Lecture period in summer semester 2020: 20.04.2020 - 24.07.2020


Exams at our institute are usually at the end of every lecture period.